Sweet Potato Hash 1.0

This is a breakfast we just threw together this morning, and it just so happened to be delicious! I had a bunch of sweet potatoes and Jeremy and I were craving hash browns, and I remembered my mom making some one time that were out of control amazing. Side note, my mother is magic in the kitchen, she never uses a recipe and (almost) everything she makes is crazy delicious.

This dish is also toddler approved, the little dude I hang out with a couple days a week was all about it.

IMG_0221-1

So here is what I am trying to remember the recipe to be, I forgot to write anything down during the making of it.
Serves 2 very hungry adults and a toddler.

4 medium sized sweet potatoes, peeled and grated.

1/2 lg. sweet onion (or more if you like 😉

Enough bacon grease and/or coconut oil to make’em good and greasy! We used both.

For the seasoning I used the herbs de provence blend, garlic powder, onion powder, pepper, Trader Joe’s garlic salt and Everyday Seasoning. I would have no idea how much of any I put in..

Preheat oven to 400 F

First thing is first, cook some bacon!

Then, as pictured above, we fried them up in a couple of pans for a bit with the bacon fat and some coconut oil, maybe 8-10 min, just until they started turning a bit brown. As they were cooking on the stove I put a couple tablespoons of coconut oil on a cookie sheet and put it in the oven while it was heating up. Then transferred both pans of hash browns to the cookie sheet! We let them cook in the oven for 15-20 min, but stirred them up a few times, the corners got crispy real fast! Then pulled them out when they looked like they do below!

IMG_0240-2

We also made some eggs to go along with. I sautéed some sweet onion and brussels sprouts in coconut oil with some more of that herbs de provence, I am obsessed with it, and garlic salt and pepper. Then basically  made an omelette with it. I have had a bit of a cold so I didn’t put any cheese on the eggs, but I am sure it would be to die for if I had.

Once the hash cooled a bit it was pretty crispy, just the way we like it!

Thanks for reading! Try it!

IMG_0245-3

IMG_0254-4

Leave a Reply

