BBQ Bacon Pizza

This is the second time Jeremy and I have made this together and it turned out amazing! We had a little pizza party before I left for my trip to San Diego for my cousins wedding. And I apologize about this recipe, the crust is for both pizzas but the topping is only enough for 1 of them. I always do 2 different kinds of pizza.

This makes 2 pizzas, serves 4.

Preheat oven 425 F

For the Crust:

Bobs Red Mill GF Pizza Crust mix

2 lg. garlic cloves

1/4 cup minced fresh onion (I used a sweet onion)

2-3 Tbs. “Herbs de Provence”

2 (ish) Tbs. Nutritional Yeast

Garlic Salt and Pepper! (I never measure… However much you like, the crust is very bland by itself so don’t be afraid to generously salt.)

Directions:

Just follow the directions on the bag of crust mix, just adding all the spices and yummy things in when you start to mix in the flour. Then let it rise, as it describes. And how I like to make them is by baking them in my cast iron skillet in bacon fat, I really love the way the crust turns out. And I definitely recommend following the directions on the bag and baking the crusts for a bit before adding the toppings.

IMG_0266-1

For the topping: Only for 1 pizza

Cooked bacon (however much you want on your pizza)

1/2 (or the rest of) onion, diced

8-10 brussels sprouts (halved the thinly sliced)

3-4 leaves of dino kale

Your favorite BBQ sauce

Cheese! I love the TJ’s Collier’s Welsh Cheddar Cheese, its sharp and creamy. I usually do a mix of that and the TJ’s goat milk cheddar cheese.

Directions:

First I throw the onions in the pan with some coconut oil or bacon fat, and let them cook just for a bit, then I add the bbq sauce and rest of the veggies. I am guessing I used around 1/2 cup of bbq sauce.

Then I just let that all cook down on medium-low heat. The bbq sauce will thicken up more and the veggies should be most of the way cooked.

Then I just put it on the crust, add the cheese to the top, and bake it!

IMG_0269-2

IMG_0271-3

Leave a Reply

